0 votes
write notes on : (b) Himalayas
in Chapter 3: Physiography and Drainage by Expert (10.7k points) | 13 views

1 Answer

0 votes
Best answer

The Himalayas is one of the young fold mountains in the world. The Himalayas extend from Pamir Knot in Tajikistan to the east. It is a major mountain system of the Asian continent. In India, it extends from Jammu and Kashmir to Arunachal Pradesh. The Himalayas is not a single mountain range. There are many parallel ranges in the system. The southernmost range of Himalayas is known as the Siwaliks. It is also the youngest range. Beyond the Siwaliks are Lesser Himalayas (Himachal), Greater Himalayas (Himadri) and Trans Himalayan ranges from south to north. These ranges are young to old respectively. These mountain ranges can also be divided into Western Himalayas (or Kashmir Himalayas), Central Himalayas (or Kumaun Himalayas) and Eastern Himalayas (or Assam Himalayas).

by Expert (10.7k points)

Related questions

714 questions
695 answers
24 users